Our Mission

The Suicide Prevention Coalition of Erie County fosters a community of hopefulness, safety, and shared responsibility to prevent suicide and suicide attempts by increasing awareness, promoting resiliency and facilitating access to resources.

Our History

The Suicide Prevention Coalition of Erie County was a result of the New York State Garrett Lee Smith Grant. The primary goal is to work to build competent communities for Youth Suicide Prevention in NYS.  In 2012,  the Suicide Prevention Coalition of Erie County was established. This Coalition is a group of community stakeholders including but not limited to mental health, substance abuse, prevention education, various school districts and county leaders like the Dept. of Mental Health, Dept of Health and the Erie County Medical Examiner’s office.


Our Members

American Foundation of Suicide Prevention

Brylin Behavioral Health System

Buffalo Public Schools

Buffalo Psychiatric Center

Crisis Services

Erie County Department of Health

Erie County Department of Mental Health

Erie County Medical Examiner’s Office

Gowanda Central Schools

Kenmore-Tonawanda UFSD

Lake Shore Behavioral Health

Mental Health Association of Erie County

Preventionfocus, Inc.

Spectrum Human Services

SUNY Buffalo State- The Counseling Center

Williamsville Central Schools